Vanuatu Tourism Awards finalists

Vanuatu Tourism Office CEO Adela Issachar Aru addressing a gathering of sponsors of the 2017/2018 Vanuatu Tourism Awards ceremony at the Ramada Resort last Friday morning.

A total of 41 finalists have been selected for the Vanuatu Tourism Awards for Excellence 12017/2018 ceremony that will be held on Saturday, June 23, 2018 at the Vanuatu Convention Center in Port Vila from 3.00 p.m. to 5.30 p.m.

There are 14 finalists in the Accommodation category - three finalists for best Island Style accommodation, sponsored by Department of Tourism; three finalists for the best Mid-Range accommodation, sponsored by Vanuatu Hotels and Resorts Association; three finalists chosen for the Boutique, sponsored Island Life, three also for best Hotel/Resort accommodation sponsored by World Car Rentals, Vanuatu; and two finalists for best Luxury accommodation, sponsored by Vanuatu Insurance Brokers.

There are 12 finalists for the Tours category – three finalists for the best Traditional/Kastom Tour, sponsored by Vanuatu Kaljerol Senta; three finalists for best Adventure Activity, sponsored by Adventures in Paradise; three finalists also for best Ocean Experience, sponsored by Vanuatu Scuba Operators Association and Espiritu Santo Tourism Association; and three finalists for the best Recreational/Soft Adventure, sponsored by Vanuatu Tour Operators Association.

And there are 18 finalists for the Individual category – three finalists for the best Customer Service, sponsored by Angelfish Cove; three finalists for the best Behind the Scenes, sponsored by Classic Printers; three finalists for the best Tour Guide, sponsored by Vanuatu Tourism Office; three finalists for the best Leadership in Handicraft, sponsored by Department of Industry; three finalists also in best Transport Ambassador, sponsored by Public Land Transport Authority and South Sea Shipping; and finally three finalists for the best Youth in Tourism, sponsored by Department of Youth and Sports.

Three new special awards will be presented this year including the Minister of Tourism Sustainability Business Award, Agritourism Special Award and Father Luke Dini Ecotourism Individual Award. 

Entry for the awards ceremony is free, which will be followed by a Gala dinner at the Farea Pasifik, Warwick Le Lagon Resort starting at 6.30 to 7.00 p.m. and closing at 11 p.m. Buy your tickes now from the Vanuatu Tourism Information Office. Call 22813 or Email:

Tickets are Vt7,500 each or Vt70,000 for tables of ten.

Jonas Cullwick, a former General Manager of VBTC is now a Senior Journalist with the Daily Post. Contact: Cell # 678 5460922

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.