Seat increase for Efate Rural official

Registered voters in the Efate and Offshore Islands constituency will now cast their votes for five parliamentary representatives in the 2020 General Election.

This was made official after Head of State, Obed Moses Tallis signed the Gazetted Order No.105 of 2019 on August 8, 2019.

This increase does not affect the 52 Parliamentary seats, only the Port Vila Constituency where the number of seats was reduced from six to five.

A Council of Ministers’ decision of 2018 had approved the transfer of a parliamentary seat from the Port Vila Constituency to the Efate Rural Constituency.

According to official documents the order commences on the day on which the term of the 11th Legislature expires.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.