A reshuffle was administered by Prime Minister Charlot Salwai yesterday afternoon in the presence of other ministers and Government MPs.

Minister for Youth and Sports, Simeon Seule resigned and was replaced by Leaders Party of Vanuatu MP, Francois Chani.

PM Salwai confirmed MP Seule will be elected as Speaker of Parliament today.

National United Party’s MP for Ambrym, Bruno Leingkon also took his oath yesterday as he officially took the ministerial portfolio of the Ministry of Climate Change.

He replaces MP Ham Lini who stepped down as he is the Government’s candidate for the position of Second Deputy Speaker.

The reshuffle has increased the total number of LPV portfolios to three.

The first Extraordinary Session resumes today and the parliament is expected to remove current Speaker of Parliament, Esmon Saimon and his Second Deputy, MP Toara Daniel Kalo.

During the swearing-in ceremony, Mr Salwai conveyed his appreciation to all the MPs who were present for continuing to remain firm and maintaining the stability in this coalition government.

He noted they are only a few months away from the end of their term in the 11th Legislature.

He also conveyed a special ‘thank you’ to MP Lini, a former Prime Minister for his continuous support and leadership in the government.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.