2nd Extraordinary Parliament Session resumes today

Parliament is scheduled to resume for the 2nd Extraordinary Session at 8.30am today.

The 2nd extraordinary session kicked off yesterday morning but Leader of Government Business, MP Fred Tasso, requested for more time.

He said many of the MPs were out in the islands and have just returned to the Capital.

Speaker of Parliament Esmon Saimon then adjourned the 2nd Extraordinary Session of Parliament to allow sufficient time for the MPs to read through the 11 Bills and two written motions, listed for the session.

Meanwhile Graon mo Jastis Pati (GJP) MP-elect Uri Warawara was officially sworn in as a Member of Parliament yesterday morning.

MP Warawara secured the seat left by former MP for the Malo/Aore constituency-the late Nagriamel MP and Deputy Speaker Havo Moli.

Warawara beat other contenders to poll 669 votes from the 2,229 valid votes cast during the by-election.

If the two groupings within the Union of Moderate Parties (UMP) merge, UMP will lead with the highest number of MPs.

However as it stands, the GJP now has eight MPs in the 11th Legislature followed by the Vanua’aku Pati, Vanuatu Leaders Party and other political parties including the National United Party, Peoples’ Progressive Party and Reunification of Movement for Change.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.