MP Seremaiah Elected Chairman of Public Accounts Committee

MP Matai Seremaiah. Photo: Dan McGarry| File

Member of Parliament for Luganville Constituency, Matai Seremaiah has been elected Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

The election took place last Thursday at the Parliament Secretariat, where the seven members of the committee elected MP Seremaiah as Chairman.

His Vice Chairman is MP Gaeton Pikioune, also elected by the members.

The key responsibilities of Committee on Public Accounts are; to examine the accounts of the receipts and expenditure of the Republic of Vanuatu including the Financial Statement transmitted to the Auditor-General in accordance with Section 25 of the Public Finance and Economic management Act No. 6 of 1998 and Section 27 of the Expenditure and Audit Act No. 3 of 1998, as amended.

The Committee will examine the financial affairs of authorities of the Republic of Vanuatu and of the intergovernmental bodies to which these Acts apply and to examine all reports of the Auditor-General (including reports of the results of efficiency audit) copies of which have been laid before Parliament.

It will also report to parliament as to what corrective actions have been undertaken or planned to be undertaken by Government to improve the economy, efficiency and effectiveness with which the funds appropriated by Parliament have been expended.

The PAC will report to Parliament, with such comments as it thinks fit, any items or matters in those accounts, statements, and reports or any circumstances connected with them, to which the committee is of the opinion that the attention of the parliament should be directed.

It will also inquire into any question in connection with public accounts which is referred to it by Parliament, and to report to Parliament upon that questions.

Additionally, the PAC will report to parliament any amendment as it thinks fit in matters related to the management, collection, control, issue or payment of public funds and examine matters related to tax measures, appropriation bills and publicly-owned financial corporations and also include such other duties as assigned to the Committee by the Standing Orders approved by Parliament.

The other committee member of the Public Account Committee are: MPs John Salong, Marcellino Barthelemy, Anatole Hymak, Samson Samsen and Anthony Harry.

The same election also took place on the same day for other standing committees.

The Committee of Social Affairs elected MP Joshua Pikioune as Chairman, with Vice Chairman Nako Natuman and Members: MPs Assang Sannick, Edward Nalyal, Ephraim Boereve, Ulrich Sumptoh and Job Andy.

The Committee of Economic and Foreign Policies elected MP Wesley Rasu as Chairman, Vice Chairman MP Marc Melsul, members are: MPs John Mark Ruben, Xavier Harry, John Sala, Ian Wilson and Sakias Lulu.

And the committee of Institutional and Constitutional Affairs elected John Steel Tari as Chairman, Vice Chairman John R Nil and the members are: MPs Anatole Hymak, Xavier Harris, Alfred Maoh, Francois Batick and Bakoa Kaltonga.

The position of Chairman and Vice Chairman are paid positions while members will only receive allowances when there is a sitting.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.