MP Kapapa rejoins Gov’t

The Government led by Prime Minister Bob Loughman now commands 30 MPs, including the Speaker of Parliament.

The boost from 29 to 30 MPs comes after Tanna Member of Parliament (MP), Robin Kapapa decided to join the government again.

MP Kapapa previously defected to the Opposition bloc on September 3.

But things changed inside Parliament Chambers yesterday when the Tanna MP was seated on the government side.

Daily Post spoke to one of the vice presidents of Union of Moderates Parties, Saby Natonga who affirmed MP Robin Kapapa is still a member of UMP and retains his position as Vice Secretary General of the party.

A political source who requested anonymity said the Tanna MP went and met the government side, informing them of his decision before yesterday’s sitting.

“MP Kapapa came here to the government camp and declared his intention to switch side, his decision was welcomed by the government and yesterday’s parliament reflected his intention,” he said.

Now that the Tanna MP has rejoined the government side, the number of Opposition MPs has dropped from 23 to 22 MPs.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.