Four former MPs released, four still in custody

Four of the jailed former Members of Parliament (MPs) were amongst eight detainees that were released on Parole by the Parole Board on Friday November 22, 2019.

They are: Pascal Sebastian Iauko, John Amos, Thomas Laken and Jonas James.

Director of Department of Correctional Services, Johnny Marango explained that Mr Iauko was released on compassionate grounds, whereas the other three were released on standard conditions.

“They actually reached their half sentence date and these conditions are to remain until their Sentence End Date (SED),” Mr Marango said.

He added the Parole Board was satisfied that these parolees were sufficiently rehabilitated and “and that they are no risk to the community”.

Parole conditions for the parolees, the former MPs in particular include not engaging in any politics or political activities of any kind, and not to re-offend or commit any other offences.

In Iauko’s case, the Parole Board was satisfied with his medical reports that he has a serious physical condition that requires his release to seek medical attention in New Caledonia.

He is released on condition that he returns after his treatment and continues to report to the Probation Officer until his SED on June 1st, 2021.

Meanwhile four of their colleague politicians — Jean-Yves Chabod, Marcellino Pipite, Tony Nari and Arnold Prasad — still remain in custody at the Correctional Center.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.