Graon Mo Jastis Party’s (GJP), Gillion William, was declared as the newly elected Member of Parliament (MP) for Efate Rural last Friday.

The Electoral Office (EO) received orders from the Court for a recount of votes for the Efate Rural constituency after the runner up candidate for the 4th seat in the constituency filed a petition against Mr Nato Taiwia.

Daily Post understands last week Friday the Supreme Court ordered for the Electoral Commission to make declaration on Mr. William as the elected MP for Efate Rural.

The official results of the Snap Election held on January 22, 2016 declared Mr Taiwia as the successful candidate securing the 4th seat in the constituency of Efate Rural with 840 votes and Mr. William with 831 votes- a difference of nine votes.

In the official publication of results Gazetted last weekend, Mr. William won with 843 votes while Taiwia has 840 votes.

The new MP is likely to take his oath once Parliament meets in its next session.

The decision means GJP now has 7 MPs in Parliament, the highest in this 11th legislature for a single party that had its candidates contest under the political party’s name.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.