10 candidates for Partie Travailliste: President

Partie Travailliste Vanuatu (PTV), is fielding 10 candidates in the national election.

This political party is new in the political arena of Vanuatu, but has climbed from 1 candidate in the snap election in 2016 to 10 candidates in 2020.

The party president, Joe Harry confirmed the names of his candidates as follows:

Clifton Lonsdale (Torres constituency), Harry Vanva (Banks constituency), Dr. Basil Leodoro (Luganville constituency), Jean Philip Sam Sewere (Malekula constituency), Wreath Bule (Pentecost constituency), Fred Tasso (Paama constituency), Kalo Mawa (Epi constituency), Pierre Jean Rolland (Efate consitutency), Ephraim Kalsakau (Port Vila constituency) and Joe Harry (Tanna constituency).

In 2016 snap election, only one candidate was elected and it was the former Member of Parliament of the 11th legislature and former chairman of the public accounts committee of parliament, Ephraim Kalsakau.

Mr. Harry said the party launched its constitution back in 2017 and one of the resolution is for the party to field 25% of women candidates in the 2024 general election.

The party’s constitution is in the French language.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.