VRL Pacific Games update and shortlist announced

The Interchange Vanuatu Rugby League (VRL) has had very fruitful discussions with both the Government of Vanuatu and Vanuatu Association of Sports and National Olympic Committee (VASANOC) to provide a potential way forward for the VRL to attend the Samoa 2019 Pacific Games.

The VRL will continue to liaise with all parties in the coming weeks to continue to explore the attendance of Vanuatu in Rugby League 9’s at the Games.

VRL President Tom Carlo commented, “We’d like to sincerely thank the Government of Vanuatu, led by Mr Henry, Director-General of Ministry of Youth Development and Sports and VASANOC led by President Mr Antoine Boudier and CEO Mr Henry Tavoa.

“Without their tireless efforts and support, we wouldn’t have a potential pathway to the Games.

“It’s important to note that our attendance hasn’t been confirmed but simply a potential way forward which we’ll continue to work towards before a final decision is made in the coming weeks in consultation with all our key stakeholders, including the Government and VASANOC.”

In the event that Vanuatu do attend the Games, the Vanuatu Rugby League Board on behalf of President Tom Carlo has announced the shortlist (in alphabetical order) of players and officials for the Games:

Davida Albert

Avia Allan

Stuart Andes

Amani Arutahiki

Dan Dan Bakokoto

Watsal Bong

Richard Edmanley

Rob Franklin

Maxwell Garae Ngatonga

Ben Henderson

Yannick Hughes

Patrick Jack

stanley Joseph

Kunro Kalo

Manuela Kalotiti

Anatol Kalpukai

Anro Kalpukai

kalmasei Kalpukai

Daniel Kaltapang

Andrew Kaltongga

Ivo Laban

Salitasi Lolo

Ben Lui

Danford Lui

Tonny Lui

Malau Manaroto

Alehana Mara

Alickson Napakaurana

Potefa Nishina

Kalsauma Oscar

Alex Philip

Dominique Sablan

Max Taleo

Stephen Tanga

Manuel Taripakoa

Ian Vuti

Kim William

Daniel Wood

James Wood

Team Officials

Lionel Harbin

Jeremy Hickmans

Ben Howard

Salitasi Lolo

Tonny Lui

Holika Taufa

Gerald Thompson

Brett Wright

To be eligible, all players must either send a copy of their passport bio information page to vanuaturl@outlook.com & soo.t.motuliki@gmail.com and or drop passport to Board Member So’o Motuliki at Geoffery Gee and Partner Law Office in downtown Port Vila.

Player must send or drop passports by the latest 2pm (Vanuatu time) on Thursday 7th March 2019.

The VRL congratulate all players selected and will continue to not make any further comment at this time, to respect the process we are going through.

Raymond Nasse

Sports Editor


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.