Part of the Vanuatu team posing on their first day in Essex, England. Photo: Hopeman Simpson, Facebook

Vanuatu Cricket has announced the 14 man squad that will complete in the upcoming International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cricket League (WCL), Division Six in Essex, England from 7-13 September 2015.

Eight teams will be participating in the tournament — Cayman Islands, Guernsey, Botswana, Fiji, Norway, Saudi Arabia, Suriname and Vanuatu.

The 14 man Digicel Vanuatu Squad is as follows:

1. Andrew Mansale (Captain)

2. Jonathon Dunn

3. Jelany Chilia

4. Trevor Langa

5. Patrick Matautaava

6. Nalin Nipiko

7. Simpson Hopeman Obed

8. Joshua Rasu

9. Apolinaire Liplip Stephen

10. Kenny Tari

11. Niko Unavalu

12. Ronald Tari

13. Wolford Kalworai

14. Callum Blake

Non-travelling reserves: Damien Smith, Jamal Vira and Shem Sala.

Officials: Shane Deitz (Coach), Anthony Smith (Physio), Mark Stafford (Team Manager).

The Digicel Vanuatu National Men’s Team departed Bauerfield airport on Wednesday 19th August for Sydney , Australia. The team will be playing some friendly matches in Australia (19 August – 26 August) and Netherlands (29 August – 4 September) prior to the ICC WCL Division Six tournament.

The Vanuatu Cricket Association wishes to express its support and confidence in the selected team and wishes them the best of luck in the upcoming tournament. The team will return to Port Vila on Wednesday 16th September.

Raymond Nasse

Sports Editor

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.