The National Committee on Maritime Boundary Delimitation at the mandate of the Council of Ministers are in Sydney, Australia at the University of Sydney engaging in boundary negotiations with France on the issue of delimitation and on the issue of sovereignty over the Mathew (Umaeneag) and Hunter (Umaenupne) islands.

The National Committee is optimistic, with the Acting Director General (ADG) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries, Forestry and Biosecurity (MALFFB) conveying via social media that the committee is optimistic after the positive outcomes in the first round of negotiations, at the end of the first day.

The Leader of the Vanuatu delegation and lead negotiator is the Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister, MP Johnny Koanapo.

Members of the delegation include Parliamentary Council, Angelyne Dovo, ADG at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, International Cooperation and External Trade (MOFAICET), Roline Tekon, Director of the Vanuatu National Statistics Office and representative of the Ministry of Finance and Economic Management, Simil Johnson.

The delegation also include: MALFFB ADG ,Benjamin Shing, Director External Trade MOFAICET, Sumbe Antas, the High Commissioner of Vanuatu to Australia, Kalfau Kaloris, Director Ports and Harbour and representative of the Ministry of Infrastructure and Public Utilities,Mr Henree Worek, head of the Maritime affairs division on DOFAICET Toney Tevi and Ms Sheena Xee Luankon from the same division.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.